On 15 September 2012, the CSCST-UK (the Chinese Society of Chemical Science and Technology in the UK) and SCI-CS (the Society of Chemical Industry, Chinese UK Group) convened successfully the 19th Joint Annual Conference of CSCST-SCI in the vibrant Whiteknights campus of the University of Reading.  This event was also strongly supported by the Department of Chemistry, University of Reading and the Education Section and the Science &Technology Section of the Chinese Embassy in the UK.  It was attended by nearly 150 participants from both academic and industrial institutions in different regions of the UK and China and dedicated to “Innovation in Chemical Science and Technology”.  With the keyword of innovation, the topics of the conference thus emphasized the latest developments and achievements of chemical science and technology in different fields of chemistry. 

The opening section was hosted by Dr. Qiang Zeng, the Conference General Chair, and opened by Dr. Zheng Jiang, the President of CSCST-UK.  Prof. Georg Held, the Head of the Department of Chemistry, University of Reading, gave a welcome speech.  On behalf of the Chinese Embassy in the UK, Dr. Zhenxing Li introduced the long-term collaborative strategy between the UK and China in science and technology and relevant recent programs in China.  Ms. Joanne Lyall, the Executive Director of SCI presented the background of SCI and addressed the activities of the Chinese UK group.  Ms. Gemma Wood from the Royal Society of Chemistry gave a presentation on the development of the relationship between the RSC and China.  As one of new conference sponsors, Ms. Jianfang Cheng, the Director of the Zhongguancun Science Park London Office introduced the science-business conversion program in the Beijing Zhongguancun Science Park. 

The presentation section was led by the plenary lectures delivered by Prof. Zhengxiao Guo from the Department of Chemistry and London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London entitled “Materials Chemistry for Clean Energy”, by Prof. Howard M. Colquhoun from the Department of Chemistry, University of Reading, presenting “Molecular IT: Reading Polymer Sequence-Information with Molecular Tweezers” and by Dr. Dale A Laidler from AkzoNobel with the talk “Innovative Products for a Sustainable Future”.  The Conference also featured seven keynote lectures by Prof. Yanqiu Zhu (Exeter), Prof. Ian W. Hamley (Reading), Prof. Jian R. Lu (Manchester), Prof. Adam F. Lee (Cardiff), Dr. Tiancun Xiao (Oxford), Prof. Dongsheng Wen (Queen Mary) and Prof. Guangwen Xu (Institute of Process Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences).  In Particular, Prof. Guangwen Xu was the first invited speaker from China in the 19-year history of the Conference.  In addition to the plenary and keynote lectures, 25 abstracts from the attendees were selected for oral presentations and 23 for poster presentations.  For the first time, the speakers presented their contributions in the three parallel sessions accommodated in the special lecture theatres at the Department of Chemistry. 

In the closing section, the first Chair of the Chinese Chemical Society-UK Section (CCS-UK), Prof. Dongsheng Wen from the Queen Mary University of London, presented an outlook of a potential collaboration between CCS-UK and CSCST-UK.  Dr. Cigang Xu, the Chair of the SCI Chinese UK group, introduced activities of the group and details of the SCI membership.  Afterwards, he was also honoured to present the awards for the best oral and poster presentations.  On behalf of CSCST-UK, Dr. Zheng Jiang handed in the Certificates of Appreciation to Prof. Frantisek Hartl from the Reading Spectroelectrochemistry laboratory and Ms. Jianfang Cheng from the Zhongguancun Science Park for their gracious support and great contributions as the new sponsors to the 19th Joint Annual Conference of CSCST-SCI.  CSCST also nominated Prof. Zhengxiao Guo (UCL), Dr. Shengfu Yang (Leicester), Dr. Junwang Tang (UCL), Dr. Nigel S Dong (IEA Coal Institute), Dr. Yunfeng Gu (Cambridge), Mr. Yimin Wu (Oxford), Dr. Jingping Hu (Oxford) and Dr. Qiang Zeng (Reading) as candidates for the new President and Vice-Presidents of CSCST-UK.  The results will be announced on CSCST and CSCST-SCI Conference websites.  Finally, Dr. Zheng Jiang summarized the Conference achievements and acknowledged all contributions from the participants, sponsors and the local organizing committee.  The Conference was closed by Dr. Qiang Zeng.

In here, let us give our heartfelt thanks to the members of the local Advisory Board: Prof. Steven Mithen (PVC International and External Engagement, Reading), Prof. Christine Williams (PVC Research and Innovation, Reading) and Prof. Frantisek Hartl (Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, Reading), the Department of Chemistry of the University of Reading, in particular to Prof. Georg Held and Dr. Elizabeth Page (the acting Heads of the Department), Ms. Barbara Parr and Ms. Judy Butler (the department secretaries), Ms. Hannah Thompson and Ms. Anna Colquhoun-Alberts from the International Office and last but definitely not least the excellent Reading organizing team led by Dr. Qiang Zeng: Long Chen, Yuanyuan Wang, Biye Chen, Dr. Qiaofen Cheng, Ziou Feng, Jiaju Li, Chenxi Liu, Yue Liu, Chenhao Jia, Jie Zhong, Yeqing Cheng, Yao Chen, Haokun Wang, Juyang Zhang, Haoyi Li, Luyao Liu and Jingyan Gao.  No doubt the Conference could not be held at such a high level without their valued efforts and support. 

SCI-Chinese UK Section 2012 Annual Meeting Prize Winner List (Reading, UK)


Best Oral Presentations

Best Poster Presentations

First Prize

Dr. Zhuxian Yang (Exeter)

Mr. Bingjun Zhu (UCL)

Second Prize

Ms. Xuemiao Pan (Birmingham)
Dr. Qiang Zeng (Reading)

Ms. Nazanin Rashidi (Oxford)

Third Prize

Mr. Yimin Wu (Oxford)
Dr. Chen Wu (Oxford)
Mr. Zhanghua Gao (Oxford)

Mr. Bonan Liu (Oxford)
Dr. Songsong Liu (UCL)